Monday Morning Coffee Date

 

 

If we were having coffee this morning I’d tell you that I am in desperate need of a beach day. A beach day complete with a fruity beverage with an umbrella in it. A beach day complete with my kids running around, building sand castles, and laughing. I’d tell you that the beach recharges my soul and my soul could use a good recharging.

I’d tell you that everything seems to go wrong the moment the husband leaves for his work trips. The handle on the sliding glass door breaks, I cut myself who knows how many times when I’m cooking, and the dog decides that he no longer wants to go outside to go to the bathroom and that he wants to phantom bark all night because he’s anxious and wants to protect his family. He’s not a bad dog, just a dog who misses his dad.

I’d tell you that the kids are good, they’re great, and we’re so blessed. But just because we are so blessed with them doesn’t make parenting any easier. They make me crazy both in happiness and in frustration and I don’t think that will ever stop. I’d tell you that you were doing an amazing job parenting YOUR child the way that’s best for YOUR family and not to listen to anyone who tells you otherwise. Society can be mean when it comes to parenting. And a know-it-all. A giant know-it-all. And I’d tell you to listen to the new Kacy Musgraves song because it’s the perfect pick-me-up on a day society trys to beat you down.

If we were having coffee this morning I’d tell you that I miss my friends. Most of my best friends are scattered all over the world and I miss them. Even the friends that are only a couple hours away…they’re so close yet so far. And of course we call and we text but it’s not the same. They are all a part of my family and I (selfishly) want them to follow me wherever I move so that I always have them near.

I’d tell you that my heart hurts and cancer sucks. That we need a cure for this horrible disease. I’d tell you to please pray for this family. Her husband lost his wife and best friend and their children, they lost their mother. She was an amazing person and will live on in so many hearts but that doesn’t make it hurt any less. I didn’t know her personally, only followed her words and she was an inspiration. Cancer, well it needs to go and we need someone to find a cure. Anyone.

And we’d grab a second cup of coffee and maybe even a third not wanting to return to our realities of screaming children and laundry piled up for days. We’d talk about the world and how broken it is and how I don’t want my classes to start this morning but they do and you’d tell me I’m going to rock those classes even if it means staying up late every night to get my work done. And we tell each other our biggest wishes and our dreams hoping if we say them out loud that one day they’ll come true.

 

 

One thought on “Monday Morning Coffee Date

  1. Lora Morton says:

    You say everything so well. I wish u lived closer as the kids r getting older where I could help keep them. Love u all.

Leave a comment