Can’t

I loathe the word “Can’t” and K says it ALL. THE. TIME. It drives me bananas. If there’s anything that I’ve learned in my 31 years on this earth it’s that if you think you can’t then you most definitely won’t be able to do whatever it is you’re trying to do. I tell my minions that I’d rather them try and fail at something then sit there and tell me they can’t do something.

IMG_7215

K wanted to stand on this little wiggly thingy (I have no clue what else to call it) at the park the other day and she sat there for a minute, laughing and having fun, and out of nowhere got all serious. I asked her what was wrong, I asked her why she stopped trying to stand up and she told me, “I can’t do it Mom. I just can’t. It’s too hard.”

IMG_7216

She asked for my help. I said no. She pleaded for me to help her. I said no. She said she would fall and hurt herself if I didn’t help her. I said no.  And I looked at my darling girl and told her to eliminate the word “can’t” from her vocabulary. That she CAN do anything she wants to do and yes, it’s easy to doubt yourself and yes it’s hard to take the leap knowing you can fail but if you fail, you get right back up and try again. Shake things up, find a new way to approach whatever it is you’re trying to do and do it. Because “can’t” isn’t an option. And then I told her the simplest, most powerful thing and probably what she needed to hear most “I believe you can do it.”

IMG_7217

And she did.

One thought on “Can’t

Leave a Reply

