Learning to Fish

I remember growing up, I was always doing something. I know that most of this is because there weren’t as many technology distractions but I was always doing SOMETHING. I started riding horses at a young age (And miss it like crazy. One day I WILL own my own horse), played soccer and softball and tried to force my way into the street football games with my brother and all our friends.  There were times I would go from the barn to the soccer field or from the soccer field directly to a softball game. And I loved every second.

IMG_6705

And now I have my three minions and, while Little C is still too young, Big C and K haven’t found their thing. That thing they LOVE to do. I’m pretty sure that K is not my sporty girl. Don’t get me wrong, she has no problem getting dirty and all that stuff but she’s not thrilled about sports which breaks my heart because I’m all SPORTS and she’s all meh. But damn if that girl can’t draw and she’s even been writing songs. She’s my artsy girl for sure.

IMG_6624

Then there’s Big C. He definitely doesn’t know what the heck he wants to do with his time. He loves watching sports and he definitely has a competitive side (the jury’s still out if this is a good thing or not) and he LOVES being outside once you get him out there. I told him I was going to sign him up for soccer and he gave me the crazy eyes.

“I don’t want to play soccer mom. I want to make fish dead.”

“Wait, WHHHAT?”

“I want to make fish dead mom. Like on the boat. With daddy and Uncle Mike. That’s fun.”

IMG_6703

In other words…he wants to learn to fish. To which I told him DONE. Done and Done. I will gladly teach that boy to fish (and by me, I mean his daddy and uncle) and gladly teach him how to do everything that goes along with it. You know the saying…if you give a man a fish, you feed him for a day. But if you TEACH a man to fish, you feed him for a lifetime. And while this applies to life in general, it especially applies to fishing 🎣

Leave a Reply

