The Lunch Rut

There are some things in life I just stink at. I mean, no good…not even a little bit. Like, me, someone really good at sports, stinks at basketball. No good. Crafting, a little good but mostly bad which is why I leave the crafting to my mom. Saying the word Bagel. Not good at all. Apparently I say it in some weird way that I don’t hear, only people who hear me say the word hear it. Whatever. Don’t even get me started on gardening.  And lunches. Awful. I’m awful at making lunches. Probably because I don’t eat 3 big meals a day but yeah I’m not so good at lunches.

Normally, no big deal. The kids and husband don’t usually say much about my horrible lunches (think sandwiches FOR DAYS) until the other day. You see, I typically pack K’s lunch. Poor girl. I think her exact words were, “Mommy, can you make my lunches a little better? I mean, less boring, I mean they’re good but it’s just the same thing over and over so yeah.” It’s not like I don’t TRY to think of fun lunches for her, I do and I get all these ideas in my head and I’m all, “That’s such a great idea I should write that down!” I even write it down on a random sheet of paper that mysteriously disappears.

IMG_6490

And have I mentioned I’m not a morning person. I’m not. I’m one of those, “Please don’t talk to me until I’ve had at least a few drinks out of my coffee” or I just give you the look that says, “leave me be, it’s too early for this shit.” Which is true. I despise making lunches at 6 in the morning. And no, she’s not buying lunch everyday because school lunches, they need a make-over.

My point is this…I’m trying. I’m going through my cookbooks and pinterest boards and seeing what I can do to make K a little happier with her lunch. This is probably going to include making it the night before because this morning stuff just isn’t working. But I’m coming to the realization that while I’m great at breakfast on the weekends and dinners are pretty yummy, lunches just aren’t my strong suit. Which is what it is. So here’s to getting out of the lunchtime rut because if at first I don’t succeed, K will be making her own lunch.

2 thoughts on “The Lunch Rut

  1. Eleanor Morton says:

    That is a job. Just think before long u can fix4 lunches !!! If I were you I would show Miss K how to fix lunches I bet she would like that till she knows how!!!Lol

Leave a Reply

