On Working Out and Being Happy

I used to write a lot about working out. I’m one of those weirdos who loves to workout. Some days are tougher than others but the majority of the time I love it. But I’m a firm believer that everyone works out differently. Some people love lifting weights while others love cardio. Some love T25 and things like that, others love crossfit. Me? I’m a yoga+tabata+crossfit kind of girl.

IMG_6413

But the thing is this…I didn’t know I loved these workouts until I did them. I never, in a million years, thought I would love and crave yoga EVER. But here I am, telling my husband about the new yoga move I can do. And for those who don’t think yoga is tough..think again. It’s tough and awesome and relaxing all at the same time.

Here’s my point…you don’t have to do a structured workout everyday to be fit and healthy. All you need to do is be active. Do things you love that work your muscles at the same time. Play a sport or do crossfit, head to a yoga class, pick up that T25 video, go for a hike, learn to surf…all these things make you work muscles, just in different ways. You don’t have to do what I do to get fit and healthy but you do have to LOVE what you do in order to keep doing in. I LOVE the workouts I do and my husband LOVES crossfit but that’s what works for us.

IMG_5920

I have a friend who looks amazing and dropped a crapton of weight by doing the things she loves. She took her kids for bike rides, hiked, lifted some weights and modified what she was eating. She didn’t kill herself at the gym, she didn’t diet, she didn’t make herself miserable. She did what made her happy and she looks phenomenal.

46a4f2870750f9c3b577270eb65e517a

Don’t let anyone tell you that you have to do yoga to find your inner peace or that you have to do crossfit to be a badass. Don’t let anyone tell you that you HAVE to do hour long workouts 5 days a week to lose weight because you don’t. Be yourself, find the workouts that work for you, be happy, live YOUR life, don’t let someone else live it for you.

 

 

One thought on “On Working Out and Being Happy

Leave a Reply

