Little Buddy

This kid…He’s my buddy. A complete Mommy’s boy. The other two went through the stages of being my buddy but K has become super independent and Big C has turned his sights on his daddy. Man oh man is his daddy his hero. But Little C, he still sees me as his hero. He’s my buddy.

IMG_6386

Every morning he comes and snuggles with me while I do my morning work in bed. He snuggles right up, tells me he loves me, and lays there just hanging out. Anywhere I go, he wants to go. We snuggle, we hug, we laugh, we play.

He’s my buddy and I am his and I never want that to change. I know I only have a year or so left before he turns his hero eyes from me to his daddy and that’s fine (no it’s not), it’s life. I don’t know if it’s because he’s my littlest, my last little baby or if it’s just because he’s the sweetest boy giving me endless hugs, but I’m not ready for him to grow up. Watching K and Big C grow up, I’m ready for that. I want them to experience life in the way kids do. I love watching K getting friends and learning new things, figuring out what she wants to do in life. Big C too. I love watching them go to school and hearing about their days.

IMG_6229

But Little C, I never want him to leave my side. And the thing is, he’s ready. He goes into Big C’s classroom every morning and I swear he wouldn’t notice if I left him. And I’m not ready. Not ready to lose his snuggles every morning, not ready for him to go to school, not ready for him to have a best friend that isn’t his mama. He’s my buddy and I never want that to change.

One thought on “Little Buddy

  1. Lora Morton says:

    It makes us sad, but they all out grow us too soon. It takes a while until they begin to appreciate us again. We will always love them and hopefully they will us.

Leave a Reply

