Homemade Chocolate Sauce

When I was pregnant with the boys I craved chocolate milk which is weird because I’m not into drinking milk. I’ll cook with it or pour it in my cereal but never do I just drink it. And don’t even get me started on ruining cookies by dipping them in milk. Just no.

IMG_6012

But pregnancy makes you do crazy things. I had a glass of chocolate milk a day and it was delicious. I went through Hershey’s syrup like it was going out of style. SO GOOD. Until I would run out and not want to go to the store and my husband was gone so he couldn’t go to the store for me.

IMG_6016

Enter homemade chocolate syrup. Yup. You can make it from home with 5 ingredients. You heard me right. 5. And 5 ingredients that you typically already have on hand. Super easy, super quick. The longest part is waiting for it to cool so you can dump it in your milk.

Homemade Chocolate Syrup

Ingredients:

1 ¼ cup sugar

1 cup unsweetened cocoa powder

1 cup water

¼ tsp. salt

2 tsp. vanilla extract

Combine the sugar and cocoa powder in a medium saucepan and whisk to break up any clumps. Stir in the water and salt and bring to a boil over medium high heat, stirring frequently. Once the mixture comes to a boil, turn the heat to medium low and simmer slightly thickened. Mine took around 4-5 minutes. Remove from heat and let stand for 5 minutes. Stir in the vanilla. Pour into pretty little glasses or whatever you have on hand and store in the fridge. Let cool completely before use.

*Source: Annie’s Eats

 

One thought on “Homemade Chocolate Sauce

Leave a Reply

