Homemade Waffles and a Challenge

Last night around 6pm, I decided to make waffles. Weird I know but I knew I needed to get to the store and there was absolutely nothing in the house for breakfast for the kids in the morning so I made waffles. at 6pm. Big C kept asking me what I was doing and then promptly told me that I was crazy for making waffles so late. He’s funny like that.

IMG_4311

I even gave the kids a variety of different waffles to eat. Plain, blueberry (my favorite) and chocolate chip because who doesn’t like chocolate chip waffles. The whole point of making the waffles at 6 pm last night is to try and get away from processed food. I am not a fan of processed food. But yes, it makes my life 1000x easier when I’m trying to feed three kids. Especially three kids who like to eat ALL DAY LONG. But let’s face it…homemade stuff tastes so much better and is better for you and you know exactly what’s in it and the list of positives goes on and on. So I’m challenging myself to make 90% of our food.

So I made waffles at 6pm last night. And when I went to package them up to go into the freezer I noticed I was missing all the blueberry waffles…ALL OF THEM. Which is when I learned that Little C decided he was mighty hungry and that the dog was mighty hungry and ate them/ fed them all. Real life folks.

But it is what it is and later this afternoon I will be making more waffles because…well kids and feeding them to the dog. The good news? The waffles I made were amazing. The better news…I’m giving you the recipe. Yes, they take a little time to make but they are definitely worth it. Nice and crunchy on the outside, light and airy on the inside. NOM NOM NOM!

Homemade Buttermilk Waffles

Recipe from Cooking Classy

Ingredients:
1 2/3 cup all-purpose flour
1/3 cup cornstarch
1 tsp baking powder
1/2 tsp baking soda
1/2 tsp salt
2 large eggs, yolks and whites divided
A pinch of cream of tartar
3 Tbsp sugar
2 cups buttermilk (I made my own with milk and vinegar)
3 Tbsp vegetable oil
3 Tbsp melted butter
1 tsp vanilla extract

Directions

In a medium bowl, whisk together flour, cornstarch, baking powder, baking soda, and salt. Set aside.

In another bowl whip together 2 egg whites and cream of tartar with an electric mixer on medium high speed until soft peaks form. Add in sugar and mix until glossy and firm peaks form. Set aside.

In another bowl whisk together buttermilk, egg yolks, oil, butter, and vanilla until combined. Add in the dry ingredients and whisk until just combined. The mixture will be very lumpy. Then take a rubber spatula and carefully fold in half of the egg white mixture. Add in remaining egg white mixture and fold until just combined.

Cook in a waffle iron and transfer to wire racks to cool. Serve immediately or let cool completely and freeze.

*To make blueberry and chocolate chip waffles just add into batter after you put it in the waffle iron.

Yields about 12 waffles depending on the size of your waffle iron.

Yes, this recipe takes a little time and dirties plenty of dishes but it is definitely worth it. I could eat the waffles easily without syrup. I know this because I did. I ate an entire waffle without any syrup. And it was delicious.

2 thoughts on “Homemade Waffles and a Challenge

Leave a Reply

