Be Courageous

When I found out that I was having a daughter (which didn’t happen until I had actually had my daughter) I was scared. A girl. A girl that would probably turn out to be someone who resembles me.

If we break this down it looks something like this…

*The kid years will be great because I was a pretty good kid.

*The teenage years…let’s just say we can skip over those. Or I will be on a tropical island somewhere while Mr. Chaos raises our teenage daughter. I like to think of this as payback for deployments. Except he was in a war zone and I definitely will not be so I guess it’s not like that at all.

*The adult years…pretty good so far. So I guess I can come back for those years 😉

IMG_3479

But something I’ve learned in the 7 (almost 8) years that I’ve had a daughter is that, while we have our similarities, she’s her own person. She dances to the beat of her own drum. And while we are alike in some ways, we are very, very, VERY different. And I love that. I love that I love soccer and softball and she loves dancing and art. I love that we both share a passion for horses. I love that we are so alike and so very different. Because it’s through those shared passions that we bond and through those differences that we  can see the world through each others eyes.

IMG_3512

My daughter may never do the things I love but I’ll get to watch her thrive at something she is passionate about. I will watch her dance across a stage or do an aerial cartwheel in our backyard. Watching her light up when she succeeds and helping her stand back up and get back on that horse when she fails. I will support her and love her and tell her to have the courage to follow her dreams because,

“All our dreams can come true, if we have the courage to pursue them” -Walt Disney

Be courageous.

 

One thought on “Be Courageous

  1. Eleanor Morton says:

    Lil Miss is one of a kind. A real sweetheart
    She is ready to help and considerate of
    other people. Can’t imagine what she will
    accomplish when she is grown up. A real jewel.

Leave a Reply

