My New Favorite Workout

I have a new fitness love.

Tabata.

Not only is tabata super fun to say but it burns so good.

So here’s the run down…

Tabata is a high intensity interval workout. You typically take an exercise like push-ups and do that one exercise for 20 secs on, 10 secs rest times by 8 rounds.

Doesn’t sound so bad eh? It is. It really, really is. And there are tons of ways you can break down a tabata workout. I do it like this….I take two exercises, 1 cardio and 1 strength. I take those two and do 4 rounds of 20 secs on 10 secs off for 4 minutes and do 5 different exercise sets. So it’ll look something like this:

Set 1: Jumping jacks/squats-20 secs on/10 off for 4 rounds

Set 2: high knees/lunges-20 secs on/10 0ff for 4 rounds

Set 3: Side to Side jumps/plank-20 secs on/10 off for 4 rounds

Set 4: Front to Back jumps/crossback lunge-20 secs on/10 off for 4 rounds

Set 5: Jumping Jacks/jump squats-20 secs on/10 off for 4 rounds

and done. That’s it. Now you do want to make sure you rest for about 60 secs between each exercise. And have water handy. You’ll need it.  That workout I just shared…that’s the exact workout I did today…and I burned a total of…

IMG_2792

Yup. 221 calories and not even 25 minutes of workout. I LOVE tabata. It’s fun and I can mix and match any exercises. Love it!

*Note* I’m not trying to lose weight…I’m trying to build muscle which is why I like tracking my calories. After every workout I drink a protein shake. I use Syntha-6 by BSN and I love it. Easy to drink. And the Chocolate Milkshake is delicious. And I do this so my muscles have something to feed off of after my workouts. I’ve also been trying to up my protein intake to help build more muscle.

So there you have it. My new fitness love. My new favorite workout. Tabata is awesome and you should definitely try it.

*Note 2* BSN has no idea who I am. They did not pay me to say that I love their protein. I just thought that if you are interested in drinking some protein to help build ya some muscle you might want a recommendation because not all protein shakes are created equal.

One thought on “My New Favorite Workout

Leave a Reply

