Happiness is…

A plate full of cookies.

Ok maybe not all the time but I do know that I’m pretty damn happy when I have a plate full of cookies in front of me. Especially ones that are full of M&M’s!

Here’s the thing….I woke up yesterday in an awful mood. I had a weird…WEIRD…dream, Baby Chaos woke up a 5:45 (luckily Mr. Chaos got up with him), I wasn’t feeling the best, and all in all I was just blah. And waking up in a bad mood is the worst because you just can’t kick it. It stays with you all day if you let it and boy did I let it. But that’s OK because I baked cookies for my therapy.

Cookies= great therapy if you didn’t know.

IMG_2714

It’s too bad I didn’t think to bake the cookies earlier in the day instead of at 3 in the afternoon because as soon as I ate one, I was instantly happier.

M&M Cookies

Recipe from Sally’s Baking Addiction

Ingredients:

 

  • 2 cups + 2 tablespoons all-purpose flour
  • 1/2 teaspoons baking soda
  • 1 teaspoon cornstarch
  • 3/4 cup (1.5 sticks) salted butter, softened
  • 1 cup light brown sugar
  • 1/2 cup sugar
  • 1 egg, at room temperature
  • 1 egg yolk, at room temperature
  • 2 teaspoons vanilla extract
  • 1 cup mini M&Ms- I used 1 cup of the regular m&m’s because that’s what I had and they were still delicious

Directions:

In a bowl, mix the flour, baking soda, and cornstarch and set aside. Cream together the butter and sugars. Add in the egg, egg yolk, and vanilla. Mix well. Gradually add in the flour mixture and stir until a dough forms. Fold in the M&M’s…Don’t overmix.

Chill the dough for 30 minutes.

Preheat the oven to 325 degrees. Drop tablespoons of the dough on an ungreased baking sheet. Press a couple more M&M’s (because more is better) on the tops of the dough. Bake for 8-10 minutes. The centers will still be soft. Let cool completely.

Happiness is bright, colorful cookies by the handful 😉

 

 

 

One thought on “Happiness is…

Leave a Reply

