The Toaster Strudel Debacle

My daughter loves toaster strudels and there are just some mornings where I just don’t feel like cooking breakfast at 6am.

Who am I kidding? I never feel like cooking breakfast at 6am. So some mornings my daughter gets a nice, piping hot (from the toaster) toaster strudel. And she devours them.

Until yesterday. Yesterday morning I gave my oldest her toaster strudel and then went to do my morning work on the computer. Not even 5 minutes later a devastated Little Miss came strolling in the office because her beloved toaster strudel was *gasp* MISSING! (I’ll give you one guess who took it. It may have been the monster I’ve been dealing with.)

I’m not proud of what happened next. I took Little Miss into the kitchen and said, “Here…we’ll make you another one. Go pop this in the toaster.”

To which she replied, “How.”

It was at that moment I realized I’m failing my kids a little bit. My 7 (almost 8) year old daughter doesn’t know how to operate a toaster A TOASTER. Something you put things in, press the button down, and wait for that thing to pop back up nice and hot. This made me realize that I do EVERYTHING for my kids. And this is going to stop.

I’m a firm believer that kids should help in the kitchen. And not just the kitchen. Little Man and Little Miss are both at ages where they can help around the entire house but I’ve always been one that is maybe a little bit of a perfectionist and when it comes to household chores I can do it how I like it and faster myself. BUT this doesn’t help my kids learn responsibility. This doesn’t help my kids grow up knowing how to live on their own. The kitchen is especially important to me because not only does it teach them how to cook but it also teaches them to be healthy. So…Little Miss will be helping me a couple times a week and so will Little Man. And they both will be helping more around the house in general. I’ve got to give up my perfectionism and they’ve got to start learning responsibilities. It’s going to be interesting because most of my control issues are in the kitchen. But my kids will know how to cook. They will grow up to be self sufficient and they definitely will know how to use a toaster.

Which brings me to some exciting news! There will definitely be more recipes on the blog!!! WOO!!!! I will be sharing my meal plans and recipes that work and some that don’t. I will be sharing Little Miss and Little Man’s triumphs in the kitchen. No…my blog will not be a food blog. But I will be blogging all the fun stories of cooking with kids. Because seriously…kids should know how to work a toaster.

One thought on “The Toaster Strudel Debacle

  1. Meghan says:

    Haha, cute story. I try to make sure I involve Avery in everything from baking cookies, to getting his own item out of the fridge. But sometimes with our busy lives we realize things like this with the toaster. Great story and P.S. those things are delicious!

Leave a Reply

