Raspberry Turnovers

I realize I haven’t been very good at sharing recipes lately. For that, I am truly, truly sorry because I have found (and made) some goodies. I’ll be better, I promise!

A few weeks (or maybe even a few months now) I found this recipe on pinterest. I knew, from the picture alone, that I would be making them. The problem is this…I don’t make breakfast a whole lot. Usually I just throw stuff on my kid’s plates and go on my merry way with my huge mug o’ coffee. I realize this isn’t the best thing. I’m trying to get better at forcing breakfast on myself. This morning was the perfect opportunity to start because, for some reason, I was craving raspberry turnovers and as soon as the craving hit I instantly remembered the photo from this recipe and had to have it. As in right in that moment.

Unfortunately, I had to make them first. This is the moment in time I really need a bakery in my own house. So that when I wake up, I just place my order and BAM! Breakfast is served. No dirty dishes, no kitchen clean up, just a good breakfast made by someone other than myself who has already had their coffee and is wide awake.

No, I’m not a morning person. Yes, I need my coffee before I’m in a good mood, and no I don’t like cleaning my kitchen first thing in the morning. And those three reasons are probably why I don’t cook breakfast more often.

Anyways…enough rambling and more recipe goodness!

IMG_1524

These raspberry turnovers are yummy. Little Miss loved them, Little Man loved them, Baby Chaos ate them and that’s a huge win because he’s in this, “let me throw all my food on the floor so the dog can eat it” stage, and of course, I had one and devoured it which made me realize that maybe a dirty kitchen is worth a delicious breakfast.

Raspberry Turnovers courtesy of  Heather’s French Press

Ingredients

  • 1 sheet of puff pastry-I used both sheets in the package and had plenty of filling
  • 3 cups of raspberries {frozen or fresh}- I only had about two cups of raspberries  and I used frozen
  • 2/3 cup of sugar- I cut this down to 1/2 cup since I only had two cups raspberries
  • 3 tbsp cornstarch dissolved in 2 tbsp of water
  • 1 tsp vanilla

Instructions

  • pre-heat the oven to 400
  • unroll the puff pastry sheet and cut into 4 squares
  • combine the berries, sugar, cornstarch, and vanilla
  • heat over med until the berries begin to break down
  • the sauce will begin to thicken quickly
  • once thick {about 4 minutes} remove from the heat
  • place 2 – 3 tbsp filling in the center of each square
  • fold over into a triangle and press edges to seal
  • brush the tops with a little milk and sprinkle with sparkling sugar
  • bake for 20 minutes-Mine were done around 15 minutes so keep an eye on them
  • {the filling will oooze a little}
  • cool on rack

*make sure you use parchment paper on your pans or spray a little nonstick spray. I didn’t. Don’t be like me.

These were very easy, very tasty, and will definitely be made again!

Leave a Reply

