From Here on Out

We’re busy guys. BUSY. This move is coming up super quick. Just this week we had our walk through with the property manager and officially listed our house for rent. We have our first showing today which is crazy and then I realized that we have two, TWO weekends left before we drive back home.

So from here on out, always assume that we’re busy. I’m busy, the kids are busy, and the husband, he’s busy too. It still all feels very surreal that we’re moving. That we’re actually moving back to the state we love so much. So here it is…I plan on writing but it may not be as much as it was. I’ll be around here and there but my focus is getting this house ready and helping my kids transition to moving somewhere new. For Little Miss this will be easy, for Little Man a little harder and Baby Chaos, well he’s used to this house so it might be a tad bit harder on him. We’ll see how it goes.

But don’t worry friends! I have a little something for you before my posts may or may not become spotty. A recipe of sorts. You know, one of those recipes that you’re like…really…is it really that good. But I can tell you my friends that it is.

You know the boxed stuff called Hamburger helper. My husband used to love the stuff. When I first moved to NC and didn’t really know much about cooking I would make the stuff. Mostly because it was quick and easy. I worked nights, hubs worked days so I would whip it up before work at the restaurant. I never understood my husband’s love for it. After I learned how to cook, we sort of forgot about the stuff, because really..yuck..and then one day a few months ago, out of the blue my husband asked me to grab a box or two.

I grabbed one because there was no way I’d be making it more than that. Once was quite enough. Except it wasn’t because everyone, minus me, loved it. I was determined to figure out a homemade way to make it. A good, yummy, healthier than the box stuff, alternative and guys, thanks to Iowa Girl Eats, I did. It’s good, healthier than the box, and quick. Mr. Chaos and Little Miss are very happy when I announce I’m making homemade hamburger helper for dinner and Little Man eats it up as does Baby Chaos now that he can eat it. When I have no idea what to make or I don’t feel like cooking at all, I make this. It’s that easy. It’s that yummy.

Homemade Hamburger Helper: Recipe from Iowa Girl Eats

ngredients:
1lb lean ground beef (I used 96/4)
1 tablespoon cornstarch
2 teaspoons paprika
1 teaspoon onion powder
1 teaspoon garlic powder
1 teaspoon salt
1 teaspoon sugar
1/4 teaspoon pepper
1 cup hot water
2 cups skim milk- I use 2% because that’s what I always have at the house
1-1/2 cups elbow macaroni (or other small pasta)- I use penne every time.
1 cup shredded sharp cheddar cheese

Directions:

 

  1. Brown ground beef in a large skillet or pot. Drain and return to pan.
  2. Add in cornstarch, seasonings, hot water, skim milk and pasta. Stir to combine, and bring to a boil. Reduce the heat, place a lid on top, and simmer for 10 minutes, or until pasta is al dente, stirring a couple of times- I typically cook for about 12 minutes due to penne being a little bigger than the elbow pasta.
  3. Turn off the heat and stir in cheddar cheese until melted. Let stand for 5 minutes, or until sauce is thickened.

 

 

 

 

 

 

One thought on “From Here on Out

Leave a Reply

