Tomorrow We Say Goodbye

I’ve been trying to find the words to write this post for days now. And to be honest, I still don’t know what to say.

On Sunday we got devastating news. My husband’s father, my father in law, my children’s grandfather, passed away unexpectedly. When I heard my husband say the words, it felt like a ton of bricks came down on me. I will never forget that moment. I will never forget my husband’s face. I will never forget any of it.

As I sit here, I think about all the good times we had together. I remember the times I called him to vent about how mad I was at his son and I remember all the wise words he told me. And how he told me I was right and his son was wrong 😉 I always loved talking to him but hated debating with him. He was a master debater and would argue his point until you truly thought he was right except for when it came to Tim Tebow and I knew he was wrong.

My father in law was an amazing father to his sons. He loved them more than anything in this world. He loved me as if I was his own daughter and he loved his grandkids. I will always remember his face and how it would light up whenever he saw them. He would have done anything for any of us. I still think we’re going to go see him. I still hear him in my head. I still think he’s here. I don’t want to think of our lives without him in them.

Tomorrow we say goodbye to a man we all loved and cared for deeply. Tomorrow we tell him how much we love and miss him. Tomorrow I need prayers for my family. Prayers for strength and healing. Tomorrow we say goodbye.

2 thoughts on “Tomorrow We Say Goodbye

Leave a Reply

