Goal Reached

Guys..I did it. I ran my first 5k.

It went a little something like this….

Sunday I went out for my run. On the weekend, I try to get in at least a 2 mile run. So I set off on my running adventure. Things were going great. I felt great. After running for about 4ish songs (yes, I keep track of how many songs I’ve listened to while I run. It’s a weakness I promise because I relate the song times to how far I’ve probably gone) I was tired and my legs were started to boycott what I was doing. But in an effort to run my 2 miles, I kept going.

Let me tell you a little secret about me. I have to change up my music playlist, every time I run or else my mind will know exactly when to stop. I have to change up where I run to every time for the same reason which gets tricky when you run 4-5 times a week. I can’t run very well on treadmills because I constantly am glancing at the time or distance and as soon as I reach my goal, my mind tells my body to stop.

I’m weird. I know this.

At one point, on Sunday I stopped. I glanced down at my Nike + app and saw that I was 2.3 miles in. I knew in my mind I could stop and man oh man did I want to. But guys, for the first time ever…my body told my mind to get over it. I was going to run at least 3 miles and that was that. That last mile, was the hardest mile I have ever run. Every time my foot hit the pavement my mind kept telling me to stop. But I was determined. 3.1 miles. 3.1 miles. 3.1 miles. And after telling myself that over and over, I did it. I stopped at 3.11 miles. A 5k. My first ever. 28.23 minutes.

I did it. I ran my first 5k and it felt amazing. Exhausting, extremely hard but amazing.

4 thoughts on “Goal Reached

Leave a Reply

