Sometimes We Just Need to Blow Some Bubbles

A friend of mine posed a question the other day.

If you have kids in middle and high school, is bullying as bad as they say it is?

I wanted to tell him no. I wanted to shout from the rooftops that kids are awesome and kind and things are the exact way they were when we were in middle and high school. Because the truth is, when I was in school, sure you got picked on a little but nothing compared to the horror stories you hear today. I wanted to tell him that his daughter would be safe from kids bullying her. That his son wouldn’t be touched or made fun of in any way. I wanted to help him feel more comfortable with his kids getting older and growing up.

But I couldn’t. I can’t. Because the truth? The truth is scary. The truth is that I don’t trust my daughter to walk home by herself even though we live close enough for her too. The truth is that I’m terrified of kid’s bullying my daughter. Making fun of her. Making her feel like she is nothing. The truth is that I witness bullying on almost a daily basis from kids in ELEMENTARY school. Everyday we walk home together. And most days, a parent has to get involved. There has been some days that I’ve had to get involved. The truth is that the world is nothing like it was when I was a kid.

IMG_0501

So I do what I have to to protect my daughter and I will do the same for my sons. I will walk them to and from school. I will protect them. I will be there for them. I will help them and I will love them. When we are home, I do everything in my power to let them know they are loved. I do everything in my power to let them know they are safe and I do everything in my power to let them have fun. Because life these days, is scary. So we go outside and play soccer. We watch movies together. We snuggle. And some days we go outside and blow bubbles. Because bubbles are fun. I can’t keep my daughter from experiencing life. I can’t keep her in a bubble, away from the hurt, the fear, the world. I have to let her live life and I’ll have to do the same for the boys. If it were up to me, a bubble would surround her at all times. But since it’s not, I will do my best to show her that life doesn’t have to be scary. That bullies will never stop her from doing what she is meant to do. That bullies will never ever hurt her because if one does…her Momma will protect her. Her Daddy will protect her. Her family will protect her.

So to my friend…protect your kids. Love your kids and do everything you can to show them that bullies can’t stop them from becoming the most amazing people in the world. Go outside and blow bubbles together. Make them laugh, make them smile, and make them know that no matter what, YOU are always there for them. They can talk to you and come to you for anything and you’ll always be there. The world is a scary place and we can’t protect our kids from everything but we can go outside and we can blow bubbles and make the world just a little less scary.

3 thoughts on “Sometimes We Just Need to Blow Some Bubbles

  1. Vicky Smith says:

    I’m 56 years old and I got bullied. My son who is 30 now was small for his age and he was bullied also. My younger son was big for his age and he got in trouble in Kindergarten for punching a fifth grader who was bulling a thrid grader. I don’t know that it is worse, it is definitely more publicized. I know I can home with ripped tights and dirt on my clothes from being pushed down. The teachers back then just said “Toughen up”. My mom was sympathetic but I knew if she interfered it would get worse.

    • Stacy Fiore says:

      I’m so sorry you had to deal with that as well as your sons. I think it’s more apparent now that we have all the social media sites and it definitely is more publicized. Bullying is something that’s not going to stop anytime soon and we, as parents, educators, mentors, need to figure out the best way to put a stop to it.

  2. Grammie says:

    You out did yourself this time. As scary as this world is anymore, you seem to have covered the if it happens and when it happens as well as it could be. A Mom never gets use to someone picking on her kids. You are a jewel.

Leave a Reply

