Learning Frustrations

Here’s the deal. Little Miss is a learning machine. She’s always loved puzzles and learning books and all that jazz. Little Man is a completely different story. No one could have a better example of how all children are different than me. Little Miss and Little Man are completely different in almost every way possible. Don’t get me wrong, they have their similarities but most of the time, their differences outshine those similarities.

It’s been hard trying to teach Little Man. Hopefully soon, he’ll be getting into preschool. But guys, he hates sitting down to do anything involved with learning. So we do things a bit differently.

Incognito learning.

IMG_9256

I have to admit, it took me a long time to admit to myself that I had to do learning things differently with Little Man. I was getting frustrated that he wanted nothing to do with learning colors, numbers, letters, or practically anything. But then it hit me. We could do things disguised as playing but we’re actually doing learning stuff. For instance, we use his blocks for counting and colors.

IMG_9258

We also use his cars for the same things. We’ll be playing together and I’ll ask him all about his colors and we’ll count the insane amount of cars he has. It’s a slower process than learning books, flashcards, and such but guys…he does so well with it. When we draw, I try to get him to doodle his shapes and letters.

IMG_9260

And he’s come so far in the past 6 months with everything…especially his speech. I’m so so proud of him and I love watching him learn because you can see the determination on his face when I’m asking him to count his cars and to tell me all the colors. And sometimes, he surprises me and counts them on his own, which is a rare moment but it happens.  But the best, the best is his imagination. Watching him build his houses and the way be plays with his cars and “races” around the house as if he is a car. That imagination that he and his sister share…I hope they both cherish it and hold on to it no matter what.

I think Spongebob Squarepants said it best, “When you use your IMAGINATION you can do anything!”

Leave a Reply

