Mediterranean Chicken

So this is how it went down. I was at the store and I saw the new Rachel Ray magazine and it drew me in. So I picked it up and flipped it open while I waited to check out and saw a handful of recipes I would actually make. So I bought it.

And I made this

photo courtesy of Rachel Ray Magazine

photo courtesy of Rachel Ray Magazine

And y’all it was good. REALLY good. And you know Rachel Ray….30 minutes or less. Mine took a tad longer because I hate…HATE…pounding chicken breasts thin but it still only took about 35 minutes total time. Mr. Chaos put it best when he said it tastes exactly like a stromboli without the carb overload. And of course, mine didn’t look as pretty because I definitely did not cut it up. Just served the rolled up chicken breast with some sauce on the side and some roasted asparagus…YUM!

Mediterranean Chicken: Rachel Ray

Ingredients :

  • 1/3 pound provolone, cut into 1/4-inch cubes
  • 1/3 pound salami, finely chopped
  • 1 small onion, finely chopped
  • 1/2 cup finely chopped fresh parsley
  • 2 cloves garlic, finely chopped or grated
  • 1 small red chile pepper, such as fresno, finely chopped-I couldn’t find this anywhere so I picked up some roasted red peppers and they were delicious!
  • 4 skinless, boneless chicken breasts, butterflied (slit horizontally, then opened like a book)-I just took the chicken breast, cut it in half horizontally and then pounded to a uniform thickness. The thicken the chicken breast, the harder it is to roll and longer to cook
  • Salt and pepper
  • 2 tablespoons Extra Virgin Olive Oil
  • 1/2 cup red wine
  • 1 14 ounce can  crushed tomatoes
  • 1/4 – 1/2 cup chicken stock
  • A few basil leaves, torn-I didn’t have fresh basil so I just used dried…about a tablespoon or so. I also added some oregano to the sauce…again about a tablespoon
  • Crusty bread, for mopping-a MUST
Directions
  1. Preheat the oven to 400 degrees . Combine the cheese, salami, onion, parsley, garlic and chile. Pound the chicken slightly and lightly season with salt and pepper. Arrange the cheese-salami mixture over half of each chicken breast. Fold the other half over or roll them up, like I did and secure with toothpicks ( I didn’t have toothpicks so I just seared them seam side down first so it would stay closed on it’s own.)
  2. In a large skillet, heat the olive oil over medium-high heat. Add the chicken and cook about 2 minutes per side. Transfer the chicken to a baking sheet or dish and place in the oven. Cook 10 to 15 minutes, depending on the thickness. Let rest briefly, then slice crosswise.
  3. Meanwhile, pour the wine into the skillet to deglaze the pan. Stir in the tomatoes and chicken stock and add dried herbs (if using fresh basil, don’t add until the end).  Cover the skillet and simmer over medium-low heat for 10 minutes. Top the chicken with the sauce and basil; serve with the crusty bread for mopping.

Enjoy!

 

Leave a Reply

