To My Babies-29 Life Lessons

It’s my birthday today. 29. The very last year of my twenties. And while I’ve learned more than 29 things in my lifetime I thought that this birthday, I would share 29 since, well ya know, since I’m now 29, life lessons.

So, to my sweet babies…

1-Learn this first lesson early. Life’s not fair. It never will be. Don’t complain about it…DO something about it.

2-You and your parents will not agree on everything. . As you all get older, you and I  will have very different life views. That doesn’t mean I love you any less.

3-No matter what, your father and I will always love you. We will always be there for you. So when you think you’ve done something that will make us love you less, you’re wrong.

4-Your family will be your greatest ally.

5-You’re going to make mistakes. Everyone does. It’s what you learn from those mistakes that’s important.

6-Don’t be a hermit. Do things…LOTS of things. You only live once.

7-Travel. See the world!

8-Take pictures. Lots of pictures. I don’t care if you suck at taking pictures…TAKE THEM. One day, you’ll want to look back at those pictures and remember everything.

9-Try all types of food. You never know if you’ll like it or not but food is good. And all food is worth trying. At least once.

10-Don’t rush your life.

11-Always try to put some money aside into a savings account. No, I’m not joking. One day, you’ll be glad you listened to me about this.

12-Help others.

13-Be kind to everyone.

14-Don’t be afraid to take chances.

15- Remember that trust is hard to earn but easy to break.

16-Don’t let anyone tell you that you’re not beautiful. You all are amazingly beautiful.

17-Don’t measure the beauty of people and things by the outside. Remember that some things are more beautiful once you take a closer look.

18-Take care of yourself.

19-Exercise. It’s not only good for you but makes you feel good about yourself.

20-No matter how old you all get…You will always be our babies.

21-Listen to music. All kinds.

22-Dance. Dance when you’re happy and when you’re sad. And even if you are a horrible dance like I am, dance anyways.

23-Do your best at everything you do.

24-It’s not important how many friends you have. You can have a million “friends.” True friends are hard to find. You’ll be lucky to have 5 true friends your entire life and frankly, 5 true friends is insanely better than a million “friends.”

25-Learn to cook. It’s not only fun but you kinda have to be able to feed yourself.

26-Don’t be afraid to put yourself out there.

27-Watch lots of movies and not just current movies. A lot can be learned from the movies of the past.

28-Follow your heart. Chase your dreams.

29-And most importantly, be true to yourself.

One thought on “To My Babies-29 Life Lessons

  1. Grammie says:

    You never fail to amaze me!! Anyone who can think of 29 things to tell her babies has got my vote for Mother of the Year. Love you

Leave a Reply

