Couch to 5K and a Shoutout

I’ve officially started the journey to getting back into shape. I decided, a while ago, that I wanted to run a 5K. And the best way I’ve heard to prepare yourself for the run is the Couch to 5K (C25K) program. This was going to be started last year. Last December to be exact. Enter finding out being pregnant with Baby Chaos and those plans were put on hold.

But now, it’s on. I’m so ready to be back in shape. So ready to like the way I look again, and so ready to feel good about myself. I’ve always been an active person and played sports my entire life. Being in shape and exercising has always been a part of my life. I’m not one for diets. I LOVE food. Good food. I like being able to enjoy a good beer or have a glass of wine (or two) after a long day. And carbs are my best friend. Always have been. People always ask how I stay fit and the answer is always the same. Exercise. It’s good for the soul.

I’ve come up with a plan to help me get back in shape. It includes the following

*C25k

*After the first week of C25K, I will be adding ab, leg, and arm exercises. Running alone will get me where I want to be.

*I am going to TRY to fit some yoga in somewhere. I’ve never been big into yoga but I have wanted to incorporate it into my exercise routines for years now. So I’m going to try to figure out a way to fit it in there.

*I will be cutting out some carbs. I eat pretty healthy anyways. I love fruits and veggies and I keep my sweet intake to a low. But I do eat way to many carbs. They make me happy. This is going to be very hard and I’m only going to minimize my intake. I will never, ever, ever, cut them out completely. Don’t even ask me too.

*Alcohol (I don’t drink much anyways) will be a weekend thing. And I will be limiting myself to one or two sodas a month. I know, soda is horrible for you yada yada but I like the occasional soda so that’s that.

Why am I telling you all about this stuff? I have decided to blog about my C25k journey and writing down all these goals will help keep me doing them. I’m really excited to get back into shape and even more so to run my first ever 5k. Wish me luck.

As for the shoutout…

It’s to Mr. Chaos.

Why?

It’s our 7 year anniversary today. So to my dear husband:

You may drive me crazy but man how I love you. You have loved me through good times and bad, stuck by my crazy self and, let’s face it, you are pretty freaking awesome. You are my rock. My best friend. I love you Mr. Chaos. Happy Anniversary ❤

5 thoughts on “Couch to 5K and a Shoutout

Leave a Reply

