The Beginning of Operation Brewfood

The husband and I officially kicked off Operation Brewfood over the weekend. Friday night to be exact and it was an interesting experience to say the least.

I mean, we had no idea what we were doing. We would ask each other questions to which I would always say, “I don’t think we’re doing this right.” To which Mr. Chaos would always respond, “We’re fine babe. It’s doing what it should be doing.”

I bet this first beer is going to taste FANTASTIC, out of this world good 😉

Our Operation Brewfood wouldn’t be complete without some kid interaction. Mainly Mr. Chaos and Little Man dancing around being boys.

And Little Miss and myself laughing at the boys while the grains were doing their magic in our magical brew pot.

I still don’t think we did it right and have every intention of making Mr. Chaos taste the first brew in a few weeks when it’s finally ready. But we’re learning. So I figure who cares if the first brew isn’t any good because we did it, we tried something new, and we did it together. And if it is bad, at least the brew can only get better. But for now, all we can do is wait. The beer is in the first fermenter doing it’s thing and from there we’ll move it on over to the second fermenter. Then it goes into bottles where it will sit for a few more weeks.

As for the food part of this brewing experience, Mr. Chaos has been working on smoking. It was ribs two weeks ago which were ah-mazing. Not as good as my Dad’s but I don’t know that we can ever touch the goodness of my Dad’s grilling. And then on Saturday we, and by we I totally mean Mr. Chaos, smoked an awesome chicken. Fall off the bone goodness. Who knows what we’ll (and again I mean Mr. Chaos) try to smoke next?!?

 

2 thoughts on “The Beginning of Operation Brewfood

  1. Grammie says:

    That picture is worth a thousand words. Collin likes to do what Dad is doing and he was doing a good job. Bet your brew will be good.

Leave a Reply

