Deployment Rules

When Mr. Chaos is off on one of his trips, there are certain things that I don’t do. I learned these rules through trail and error and have learned that these are the ones that have worked best for me. They help me stay centered and get through the crazy of it all.

And then I went and broke one.

Yup. I’m a rebel.

First I should share the rules:

Rule #1: Never read any news stories of anything happening remotely close to where Mr. Chaos is. Never. Ever.

Rule #2: Never ever ever watch the news.

Rule #3: Always, always, always say “I love you” at the end of every phone conversation or email or skype call. Even when Mr. Chaos and I have been fighting the entire conversation we end the conversation with “I love you” and we always will.

Rule #4 Don’t watch any Military movies. They just make you an emotional mess. Because every military movie, at some point or other, will make you mad or sad.

Rule #5 Keep your phone with you AT ALL TIMES. Because Mr. Chaos, he calls as soon as I’ve misplaced my phone. I’ve never seen anything like it. I’ll wait for a call all morning and then as soon as I step foot out of my door to go run errands, he’ll call. Or as soon as I get in the shower. It’s like they sense it.

I bet you’re wondering which rule I decided to brake. And to most, you’d say, “that’s not that big of a deal.” And you’d be right. Except after breaking this particular rule, I’ve been kinda a mess.

*I watched a Military movie*

Right?! No big deal. Except it was. You see, I had, for once in my life, won a giveaway and I was super excited because I had wanted to see this movie since I saw the first preview for it.

Act of Valor

I never got to see it. And when it came in the mail I knew I wasn’t going to be able to wait until Mr. Chaos got home.

The beginning of the movie made me cry

The middle of the movie kept me on the edge of my seat

The end of the movie made me cry

And when I say cry, I don’t mean cry. I mean bawl like a little baby. The movie was good. I could relate to a lot of what was said in the beginning of the movie.

Like this particular quote: “You don’t expect your family to understand what you’re doing. You just hope they’ll accept it. And when you get home, you hope you can pick up right where you left off.”

And of course the saying goodbye part. And no, it never gets easier. It never will.

I was a basket case when the movie was over and for the next day. I’m sure the pregnancy hormones didn’t help. And of all the rules I would brake, that would be the one. The only one I would consider braking. And I’m glad I did. It was a great movie. Even if it did make me a complete and total basket case.

 

 

One thought on “Deployment Rules

  1. JennyO says:

    Oh honey I feel your pain, seriously the phone thing!?! Why is that!
    I do hope that the cry gave you a moment of release, its good sometimes to just give in to some of the terrifying feelings, glad you enjoyed the movie, and that IS a great quote.

Leave a Reply

