Lemon Cream Bars

Chocolate has not been my friend this pregnancy. When I was pregnant with Little Miss I couldn’t be near steak and I had no food aversions with Little Man. Little Dude has decided that chocolate should not be eaten and if it is, one bite is enough.

But citrus desserts and fruit desserts…the kid loves. So when we decided to have our awesome friends over for a BBQ this weekend, I decided to make something chocolate for Mr. Chaos (brownies with walnuts to be exact which won’t be touched by me because I hate walnuts in brownies and because chocolate and me aren’t friends right now) and something citrus or fruit like.

I did some digging into my favorite foody blogs and stumbled upon this beauty. Lemon cream bars.

Photo Credit: Two Peas & Their Pod

I love lemon but I definitely wanted a more creamy dessert and this definitely fit the bill. It was sweet, creamy, tart, and wonderful. The sweet to citrus ratio was perfect. These were really good at room temperature. But after a few hours in the refrigerator…oh man. They are to die for. The best part….SUPER SIMPLE!

Lemon Cream Bars

Recipe From: Two Peas & Their Pod/Tasty Kitchen/ Cook bake and decorate

Ingredients

  • 1 can Sweetened, Condensed Milk – 14-ounce Can
  • ½ cups Lemon Juice
  • 1-½ cup Flour
  • 1 cup Oatmeal
  • 1 cup Brown Sugar
  • ⅔ cups Butter, Melted
  • 1 teaspoon Baking Powder
  • 1 pinch Salt

PREPARATION

Preheat the oven to 350F.

Combine milk and lemon juice. Mix well and set aside for a moment.

Mix remaining ingredients until crumbly.

Press half of the streusel (dry) mixture into a lightly greased 9×13 baking dish. Pour the lemon mixture over top. Finish by sprinkling remaining streusel over the top of the lemon filling. Bake for 25-30 minutes. Cool completely then store in the refrigerator.

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

