Strawberry Pickers

During spring break I ventured out with the kiddos and went strawberry picking. There’s a cute little farm not too far from our house, Gillis Hills Farms, that had rows and rows of strawberries for the taking.

Some were big, some were small. Some a vibrant red, others were still trying to get ripe. I explained to Little Miss that we wanted the beautiful red berries and off she went brother in tow.

It was pretty comical to watch. Little Miss, at first, inspected each one and would then turn to me and ask if that particular strawberry was red enough.

While Little Man was perfectly content watching the cars drive on by.

And then of course trying to figure out what I was doing.

“Hey Mama. Whatcha doin?”

“Taking pictures of you and your sissy picking strawberries.”

“Oh…that’s what we’re supposed to be doing. Sorry Mama. I was distracted by all the cars. I’ll start getting to picking all the strawberries.

And he did. Except you can’t really explain to a 2 year old that you don’t pick the green ones. I mean you can try but they don’t listen.

I told Little Miss to show him how it was done. So she explained it all to her little brother and then watched in horror as he would drop a big, green, ugly strawberry into her basket. Which of course didn’t work for Little Miss who would then take the big, green, ugly strawberry from her basket and place it back where Little Man picked it from.

Watching kids pick strawberries…oh it’s hilarious.

They filled up that big ole basket and I have strawberries galore. We have eaten some, made strawberry bread with some, and frozen some until I can figure out just want else I want to do with them. It was super fun and I can’t wait to go back in a week or two and get some more.

Oh and I’ve already searched for other fruits we can pick and blueberry season is right around the corner. I can’t wait!

 

Leave a Reply

