Crock-Pot Ropa Vieja

I have a slight obsession with a show on Food Network. You may have heard of it a time or two. Then again, you may have never heard of it.

Diners, Drive-ins, and Dives.

I love it. I love watching the marathons and may have gotten my little 5 year old to watch it with me and she actually liked it.

A week or so ago I had a day where I was feeling pretty bad. And it was rainy and cold outside. What a better way to spend my day being sick than to watch a Diner, Drive-ins, and Dives marathon. It was epic. There was a problem though. Almost every place they went had at least one Cuban restaurant stop.

I never knew I liked Cuban food until my husband introduced me to it about a year or so ago. I love it. Love love love love love it .

And at every Cuban stop they practically always made Ropa Vieja. And it looked good. So so good.

What did I do? I grabbed one of the only cookbooks I have that had a Ropa Vieja recipe in it. I know, I could’ve just looked online but when I had first seen the recipe in my Eva Longoria Cookbook (which is a great cookbook just so you know) I knew that was the recipe I wanted to make. Why?

Because Eva Longoria made her Ropa Vieja in a crock pot. AWESOME.

I don’t have a picture of the finished product. Sorry. But I will tell you…it was awesome. So flavorful and so so easy since it cooked all day in the crock-pot. Served with some white rice and black beans just made it a perfect Sunday dinner meal.

Crock-pot Cuban Ropa Vieja

Courtesy of: Eva Longoria’s Cookbook-Eva’s Kitchen

Recipe:

2.5 lbs Beef Flank Steak (Mine was about 1.8 lbs or so)

6 Tbls ground cumin

4 Tbls Olive oil

2 cups Beef Broth

1 15 oz can or 2 8 oz cans tomato sauce

2 6 oz cans tomato paste

2 Tbls distilled vinegar

8 garlic cloves minced

1.5 tsp kosher salt

1 large onion chopped

1 green bell pepper seeded and sliced into strips

1 red bell pepper seeded and sliced into strips

1 bunch cilantro-a lot if you like a lot and a little if you like a little. You can always add more at the end.

Preparation

1. Take 3 Tbls of the cumin and rub on the steak all over. Take 2 Tbls of the oil and heat it over medium-high heat in a nice big skillet. Brown flank steak on both sides and then throw in crock-pot.

2. In a large mixing bowl mix together the beef broth, tomato sauce, tomato paste, vinegar, garlic, salt, the rest of the cumin, and the remaining 2 Tbls of olive oil. Stir well. Add the onion, bell peppers and cilantro and again, stir until well blended. Add to the crock-pot.

3 .Cover and cook on low for up to 10 hours (mine went for around 9) and on high for 4 hours. You know it’s ready when the meat falls apart after being pierced with a fork. When done, take meat out and shred with 2 forks. Return the meat to the sauce and let stand for 15 minutes.

Serve with white rice and black beans and enjoy the heck out of it!

Leave a Reply

