My Miss America

I have a beautiful 5 year old daughter. She’s smart, funny, sassy, thoughtful, caring, and I could go on and on. I think any parent could about their kids. I love her with every ounce of my being.

A few weeks ago, she said something to me. Something I thought I wouldn’t hear for at least a couple more years and it made me sad. Not because she said it but because she said it so young. We were getting ready to go out and I was putting on my makeup.

“Mommy, can I have some makeup?”

“Baby, you don’t need makeup. You are so beautiful just the way you are.”

“No Mommy. I’m not pretty without makeup on.”

I stopped everything I was doing, too shocked to really do anything. Did my 5 year old just say she wasn’t pretty without makeup on?

And what do you do when your daughter comes to you with that? What do you say?

I did the only thing I could thing of. I grabbed my little girl and hugged her till she told me that I had to let go. I told her that she is so beautiful. That no amount of makeup could make her any more beautiful than she already is. And then I told her that beauty, true beauty comes from inside.

So my dear daughter, you are truly beautiful. You are smart, caring, compassionate, sensitive, beautiful, funny, and loving. You are the most beautiful little girl in the world. I hope you always remember that and know that makeup….makeup doesn’t make you beautiful. You make yourself beautiful.

4 thoughts on “My Miss America

Leave a Reply

