Butternut Squash Soup

It all started with Little Miss. One minute she had a cough. We all went to sleep early that day so we could be well rested.

The next day came and all Little Miss was sick. Little Man was sick. I was sick. I’m 100% blaming Mr. Chaos on this one. Whenever the Army sends him to have mandatory fun, the three of us left here get sick.

And I have a massive to-do list to tackle.

One of the items on my massive to-do list is to post a blog about some soup I made a few days back. I am a soup skeptic. Never liked it that much until I got older. When I was younger I believe I would only eat chicken noodle or clam chowder. Last winter my Mom made this soup and I was terrified to try it. But knowing that I liked soup more and more I decided to just take a leap of faith.

I’m so glad I did. Butternut Squash soup is super good. This recipe is easy and delicious as is but I, of course, modified it slightly.

Butternut Squash Soup

Modified from : Allrecipes.com

1 medium sized Butternut Squash

half of an onion-diced

4 tbsp butter

3 cups chicken broth

1/2 tsp dried majoram or more to taste

1/8 tsp cayenne pepper or more to taste

salt and pepper to taste

1/2 pkg cream cheese (you can use more for a much richer soup. I think I may have used half of a half to start and added more after tasting)

Directions

Preheat oven to 350

Take that beautiful butternut squash and cut it in half. Clean it out and then cut the halves in half. Throw them on a pan, drizzle with some olive oil and salt (you can add some minced garlic too for more flavor). Roast them in the oven for about an hour.

Take the butternut squash and remove the skin. Roasting should make this much easier. Cut into cubes.

Melt butter in large saucepan over medium high heat. Add in your onion and saute until tender. Add in the squash, chicken broth, majoram, cayenne, salt, and pepper. Bring to a boil and cook for about 20-25 minutes.

Dump all contents of the saucepan and cream cheese into a food processor or blender and puree until smooth. Pour contents back into pan and heat through not letting it come to a boil. (only about 3-5 minutes).

Enjoy

Super easy and super good. Butternut squash tastes a lot like potatoes. Super good, super creamy. Perfect with some homemade bread on a nice cold day!

 

 

 

One thought on “Butternut Squash Soup

  1. Grammie says:

    I am sorry u were all sick. I felt like something was wrong. U didn’t write for one day. I look so forward to your daily goodies. I will call u later. Love u all.

Leave a Reply

