Mommy Fail

Um….hi…I did something this morning.

You see it all started when my alarm went off at 6:15 this morning. I debated a long time whether or not to get up. I said to myself, “you don’t have to get up. Keep Little Miss home from school today. Sleep in. Have fun.”

I didn’t listen to myself and I’m thinking I might have wanted to. I got up, got the kids up and headed downstairs to make Little Miss her breakfast.

Cinnamon Toast. She loves Cinnamon toast. So I put the toast in the toaster and waited.

Oh Little Miss…I don’t know if she’ll forgive me for what happened next.

I made her the toast and proceeded to make her lunch when “it” happened.

“Mommy….mommy I need something to drink. My tongue is on fire.”

“What do you mean your tongue is on fire? There was absolutely nothing spicy on your toast baby. It’s just bread, butter, cinnamon, and sugar.”

“Mommy…I don’t know….but my TONGUE is on FIRE.”

“Ok…Ok…here….drink this.”

At this point, I go grab the cinnamon that I put on her toast to show her that it shouldn’t be spicy. There’s no way that the toast should be spicy.

I grab the cinnamon and it hits me. All at once. Like a ton of bricks. You see….her tongue should have most definitely been on fire because I totally didn’t put cinnamon on her toast. I happened to use some spices when making dinner last night and left one of them on the counter in the exact place that I’ve had the cinnamon sitting for the past couple days.

Cayenne Pepper.

Yup. I put butter, sugar, and cayenne pepper on my daughter’s toast this morning. I apologized about a million times and Little Miss says she forgives me but I’m not so sure.

I should have listened to myself this morning and stayed in bed!

 

Leave a Reply

