Veggie Quesadillas

I had a craving for some good Mexican food the other day. The problem…I wanted healthy Mexican food. So my search began.

That’s when I stumbled upon this recipe at allrecipes.com

Farmer’s Market Vegetarian Quesadillas. Yum. Fresh veggies with a little bit of cheese. Yum. Add to that the fact that it took about 15 minutes from start to finish. Yum. And you can really use whatever veggies you like. Add some black beans and corn or throw in some tomatoes. Whatever veggies are your favorite.

And no, I didn’t get a picture. Don’t judge me. I was hungry.

Farmer’s Market Vegetarian Quesadillas

Adapted from: allrecipes.com

  • 1/2 cup chopped red bell pepper-I used red and green bell peppers
  • 1/2 cup chopped zucchini
  • 1/2 cup chopped yellow squash-Didn’t use…forgot to get at the store
  • 1/2 cup chopped red onion
  • 1/2 cup chopped mushrooms
  • 1 tablespoon olive oil
  • cooking spray
  • 6 (9 inch) whole wheat tortillas-I used regular flour tortillas because that was what I had at the house. They were the large size. Not the extra large size. Just the large size.
  • 1 1/4 cups shredded reduced-fat sharp Cheddar cheese-I used Colby/Monterrey jack because that’s how I roll.

Directions

  1. Chop up all your veggies. Heat up some Olive Oil in a pan and throw all your veggies in there. Season with whatever seasoning you want. I just used salt because I love the taste of sauteed veggies just the way they are. Cook veggies around 5-7 minutes depending on how soft you want them. I like mine a little crunchy but to fake out my kids, I cooked them down until they were pretty soft.
  2. While your veggies cook, go ahead and preheat your oven to 450. You can cook these in a pan on the stove. But I can never flip them without all the filling coming out so I stick with the oven.
  3. Now this is the fun part. take one of your large tortillas and either spray it with cooking spray (Lightly) or lightly brush on some olive oil. This will make the tortilla become crispy in the oven. place the oil side down on a baking sheet. Spoon some of the veggies onto the tortilla, sprinkle with some cheese and then fold it in half. continue until you’ve used all your veggies. I got three out of this recipe which was perfect for me and the kids. Mr. Chaos is off frolicking somewhere for work which is why I could get away with not using any meat in this recipe.
  4. Bake for 3-5 minutes. You’re just melting the cheese and getting the tortilla crunchy. Let cool for about a minute or two and then take a handy dandy pizza slicer (or knife) and cut in half. Serve with sour cream, salsa, and/or guacamole.

I served ours with homemade guacamole and it was so amazing. Also, two slices was plenty for me. Believe it or not, they are filling.

Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

