Why We Can’t Have Nice Things

My kids love to color. Little Man now more than ever. And what’s weird is that when he colors he seems to draw all straight lines. Just line after line after line. All straight. What’s even better is that he doesn’t like the, “you only draw on coloring books and paper” rule. No Little Man will find a pen or pencil or marker or crayon and find anything that he can draw on and go to town.

 

“Hey cute little boy. Whatcha doing? Oh you’re drawing in all the books that you so wonderfully threw all over the floor after I just picked them all up. How nice of you. But could we not do that?”

 

“No.”

“Oh and now you’re going to get more books off the shelf to draw in….hmmm…OK then. I’ll just take that pen from you.”

SCREAMS

Yeah he has a deep love for his pens. I hadn’t had to do any childproofing on the cabinets in the kitchen. Until now. One of our drawers is our junk drawer and I happen to keep some pens in there. So I childproofed it. And Little Man pulls and pulls with all his might while I watch laughing on the inside.

Until he looks at me with his cute brown eyes with a defeated look on his face. Then I scoop him up, put him at the table, get some coloring books and crayons, and later wonder why my wall is full of crayon pictures. Yes because he doesn’t just draw in the books…he has discovered the art of drawing all over the wall. I have to repaint my living room, my kitchen, and the playroom. Oh and our nook too. Not until this wonderful phase of drawing all over everything is over of course.

And that, Ladies and Gentlemen, is why we can’t have nice things.

Leave a Reply

