MilSpouse Friday Fill-in 53

1. The best thing my parents taught me to do when I was a child was _________________.

To do my best and no matter what give my all. I was big into sports and my dad would always tell me that no matter my mood or whether or not I wanted to be at practice I needed to give 110% No whining, no eye rolls just give it all and I did, well most of the time. The teenage years were filled with more and more eye rolling but to this day I always do my best and give everything 110% because my parents instilled that in me.

2. However, one thing I wish they did differently was _________________.
I thought about this one long and hard and at first I was going to say that I wish they had given me a little more slack. But let’s face it, parents are parents and not best friends. I honestly can say, I wish they didn’t do anything differently. The lessons they taught me and mistakes we both made have shaped me into the person I am today. They were hard on me when they needed to me and were always there for me.

3. One thing I’ve always wanted to try but haven’t is _________________.
Jump out of a perfectly good airplane. It’s true. I have always wanted to do it but I waited too long. I now have two wonderful kiddos that need me to not do silly things like jumping out of airplanes.

4. One thing I never thought I’d try but I have is _________________.
I never ever ever thought I would try and like sushi. But I did thanks to my husband and his dad and I LOVE it. It is one of my most favorite foods and typically, when we go out to dinner, we are at the local sushi place.

5. If I could give my 16-year-old self one piece of advice I’d tell myself _________________.
You are beautiful. No, you are never going to look like the Victoria Secret models but you also don’t have a professional doing your hair and makeup and dressing you in outfits that are made to fit you perfectly. For some reason I have always had horrible self esteem problems and I am finally starting to realize that I have set unrealistic expectations for myself. I am me and I can’t compare myself to models or actresses that have people help make them look the way they do on screen.

6 thoughts on “MilSpouse Friday Fill-in 53

  1. Kelli M says:

    Just found your blog through MilSpouse Friday Fill In! I had the same as #3, except I still am without children so you gave me more motivation to do it sooner than later 🙂

    • Stacy Fiore says:

      YAY! I’m glad you found my blog and I will definitely check yours out! I would definitely do any daredevil type things before the kiddos come along…I want to do a few things but would never risk it since my husband has such a risky job.

  2. Jane says:

    I am still trying to get past the I will never look like a model thing. lol Where are my professionals coming in to do my hair and people photoshopping me to look awesome?! Grr. lol

    • Stacy Fiore says:

      Right…I still have self esteem issues and try to hide them and work on them so my kids don’t have the same issues. But I totally wish I had professionals come to do my hair and makeup every morning! I love getting my hair cut because they make me feel so pretty so I couldn’t imagine what it would be like to have someone make me feel like that everyday just by doing my hair!

  3. Navy Wife Chronicles says:

    My kids are still really young (three under the age of ten) and while it’s very easy to be their parent right now, I hope that as they get older I will continue to still be the parent and not try to win their friendship. Even now, they’re just so funny and my terrible sarcastic comments (not towards them) and road rage mutterings are catching on. EEEEK! Have a great weekend!

    • Stacy Fiore says:

      I think one of the hardest things for me is to be the parent and not the friend. Since the hubs deploys often, I am the enforcer of the rules so I think I’ll be able to draw the line between parent and friend…at least I hope I will. I know growing up I hated that my parents were my parents and not my friends mostly because a lot of my friends had the parents who were the friends. But now that I’ve done a bit of growing up, I realize they were right and I am thankful they were parents to me.

Leave a Reply

