Milspouse Friday Fill-In 39

1. Have you and your spouse agreed to live in separate locations (a geographical bachelor tour) knowing that the short-term inconvenience would have long-term benefits for your family? How did it work for you? submitted by When Good People Get Together

We haven’t had to deal with this problem yet. There was one point that we talked about him doing a year in Korea and me staying back with the kids but then decided against it. We spend so much time apart due to deployments that I don’t know how it would work out. We have had to live apart a week or two here and there because of moving but never a longer period of time (besides deployments) I don’t know that it would work because we’d both have our own lives in the places we were at and I think it would be really hard to reintegrate.

2. What is your favorite thing about being a MilSpouse? submitted by Sarah Ruth Today

Knowing my husband makes a difference. He protects this country and his service allows us to take advantage of our freedoms. I am proud to call him my husband and proud to be a milspouse.

3. If you could still have your spouse/significant other and your family, but take the military life out of it…would you?  submitted by Trust. Love. Believe. Bake.

No. If my husband hadn’t enlisted and hadn’t gone down the road he went down, I don’t know that we would be where we are today. The Army has been great for him and has helped shaped him into the man that he is today.

4. What have your homecoming experiences been like after a year long tour of separation? submitted by Army Soldier, Army Wife

Reintegration is hard. It may be harder than the actual deployment. I don’t know what he’s been through and he doesn’t know what I’ve been through. When I see him for the first time after a long deployment, I get butterflies in my tummy and fall in love with him all over again. The hardest things are relearning each other. When he’s gone, I have my own routine that I now have to include him in and yes…it’s much harder than it sounds. Communication is the biggest thing. You have to make sure that you talk to each other and no, not about the deployment, about your feelings. If the hubby is feeling overwhelmed, he tells me and I give him some time to himself.

5. If you have a child(ren) why you chose their name(s)? If not, why you would name your child something?  submitted by Tiara’s & ACU’s

Naming our children was beyond difficult. We couldn’t agree on anything. Our daughter’s name ended up being Kendall Theresa. Kendall has no connection to anything but Theresa is the middle name of my hubby’s mom. Little man’s was even harder than our daughter to name. I wanted a strong boy name that was considered normal while the hubby wanted things Axel and Greddy (don’t ask)….We even tossed around naming him after his daddy but after talking to my Grandpa (who was a Jr. except his mom used Junior as his middle name and he HATES it to this day)  we decided we wanted him to be his own person and not have a Jr. complex. So we chose Colin because that was the only name we agreed on and used Matthew as his middle name after his daddy 🙂

Leave a Reply

