A First

I have learned that, with kids, there is a first time for everything. You have the first time your baby sleeps through the night, the first time they roll over, the first time they eat baby food, the first time they talk, the first steps, etc. The list is endless. This weekend, I experienced a new first with my kids. A wonderful, glorious first.

For the first time, both my kids were angels on the same day.

Those with only one child won’t understand this but those with two or more understand perfectly. Everyday there is always something that one of them does. One may throw a massive temper tantrum while the other is perfect and then the next day the other one decides it is their turn to drive the parents a little bit more into the crazy pit. It’s just the way it is when there is more than one child.

But this weekend…Saturday to be exact….my kids did something wonderful and glorious. I don’t know if they discussed it amoungst themselves before hand (and since my sweet boy can’t talk yet, I doubt it) or if the stars and planets were just all aligned perfectly but someway and somehow both of my kids were angels. My daughter did everything I asked and then some and didn’t whine or cry a single time….not even when it was nap time. And the little man was the same way; no crying because his teeth hurt, no crying when I put him down and walked away, just a happy happy boy.

I hope that this day can happen again; that there will be a repeat performance and sometime in the near future 😉 It’s that same feeling you get when your child sleeps through the night for the first time. All you do is hope and pray that it happens the next night and then the night after that, and so on. That’s how I feel about Saturday. Someday and someday soon, the stars and planets will align again and both my kids will be perfect angels on the same day.

❤

Leave a Reply

