Granola Balls

I have a love/love relationship with granola bars. They are super yummy and great snacks. They also go good in lunches which I now am packing five days a week. So, in an effort to save money and send Little Miss to school with good lunches, I thought it was time to try and make my own granola bars.

And that’s exactly what I did

I first tried a recipe that had corn syrup in it and it was super good but they were super sweet and they just weren’t what I was looking for.

Then I found this recipe.

Meet the Granola Balls! Peanut butter granola balls to be exact. I’ve made this recipe twice and it’s super yummy. The first time I made the recipe exactly as written. The only problem was the chocolate chips melted because I was too impatient to wait until and mixture cooled a little before adding them. Totally my problem. They were sweet but not too sweet. This time I used craisins and raisins and they are delish.

I haven’t gotten the Little Miss seal of approval yet…but I totally packed one in her lunch today so we shall see if they pass the ultimate test. Because you know kids…kids are real honest and will tell you if they don’t like what you make. It’s a good and bad thing all at the same time.

If you like granola bars and aren’t allergic to peanuts, I would totally try this out. You can throw whatever mixins you want in there and honey is the only sweetener. And the oats help keep your tummy happy :)

Peanut Butter Granola Balls

Recipe from: Two Peas and Their Pod

Ingredients:

1/3 cup honey
1/4 cup natural peanut butter
2 tablespoons unsalted butter
1 cup crisp rice cereal
1 cup old-fashioned rolled oats
1/4 cup dried cranberries
1/4 cup chocolate chips

Directions:

1. In a small saucepan over medium heat, combine honey, peanut butter, and butter. Stir until melted and smooth, 1 to 2 minutes. Remove from heat; stir in cereal, oats, and dried cranberries. Let the mixture cool for about two minutes and stir in the chocolate chips.

2. Drop mixture by the tablespoon into mini paper cupcake or candy liners. Place on a rimmed baking sheet, and refrigerate until set, about 15 minutes.

Leave a comment

Filed under Cooking, Snacks

Leave a Reply

